Study Session!

Hi guys! How’s your 설날 and Valentines Day? Last Saturday I went to meet Zara to have a Korean study session. I brought my SNU 3 and 4 books but I decided to work on SNU 4. While Zara was doing her Japanese homework, I was trying to figure out how to phrase the conversation in the book into English. I had problems phrasing some Korean sentences with technical terms in English and thank goodness Zara was there to help me.

I got confused with this sentence “그 학자의 시간표에 의하면 달나라 여행은 2015년에, 화성 여행은 2030년에 가능할지도 모른대요.” and I forgot sometimes when you translate you have to start translating from the end of the sentence that’s what Zara and I figured out. The whole sentence means “It’s not yet known if it’s possible to travel to the Moon in 2015 and to Mars in 2030 according to that scholar’s timetable.”

I really want to know the different between the words with conjunctions like 예쁘다 to 예쁘하다.
Ex: 이 옷이 예쁜데 돈이 모자라서 못 사겠다.
언니는 아이들을 예뻐한데 나는 아이들이 예쁘지 않다.

Help?

2 thoughts on “Study Session!

  1. yayy haha you finally updated your blog! XD have been checking this space regularly ㅋㅋㅋ
    그 학자의 시간표에 의하면 달나라 여행은 2015년에, 화성 여행은 2030년에 가능할지도 모른대요. –> According to that scholar’s schedule, it might be possible to travel to the moon in 2015 and to Mars in 2040.
    예쁘다 is to convey your own feelings (about how pretty the thing is) while 예뻐한데 is the short form of 예뻐하다고 한데 which is to convey 3rd person’s feelings (on how pretty it is). I think it works similar to how emotion words are conveyed with 하다 for 3rd person. 예) 나는 기쁘다/언니는 기뻐하다
    haha that’s just my thoughts (: not sure if it’s correct though ^^

Leave a Reply

