Radio

I was streaming radio the other night and a thought came to my mind..”Why do I understand Korean radio more than dramas on tv?”

Radio programs are quite different here in Korea since they talk more than they play music which is entertaining! I swear Korean radio programs makes my night fun!  As you know Kpop idols do guests on radio shows like SBS 김희철의 Youngstreet, MBC 윤하의 별밤이나 신동 규리의 심심타파 and KBS 슈퍼주니어의 Kiss The Radio, but these are just the popular ones among Kpop fans. There are more radio shows that’s interesting as well.

I started listening to radio shows 3 years ago. I don’t know how I understood everything then. It amazes me that I can catch up, relate and understand the DJs and their guests. There are no captions to read unlike in variety shows on TV since it radio even when they’re 보라 (보이는 라디오) so you really have to listen intently. This is what I like about radio as well since you’re forced to listen to what you’re hearing. Listening is a big part of learning, everyone knows that so listening to radio every once in a while is a good practice for your comprehension skills. This is also a good way to get used to the language you’re learning in terms of pronunciation and differentiating the words and the tones you hear.

You can listen to the mentioned radio shows here:

http://www.livestream.com/yososexy

And you can download SBS radio podcasIn SBS’ site here (Thanks to CreativityJapanse’s post).

15 thoughts on “Radio

  1. I enjoy listening to them as well though I know nuts about what I’m listening! LOL~ but I enjoy listening to the interaction between the DJ and the guests. ^^

    Thanks for the pingback!

    • Welcome. It’s really fun right? And the conversation sometimes doesn’t makes sense but they still laugh about it.

  2. I used to always listen to 슈키라 after work. I couldn’t understand everything, but I would listen anyway. These days, though, I haven’t had time, so I’ve forgotten about it. :( I’ll have to check out more radio shows.

    • There are available downloads for radio shows so maybe when you have time you can listen^^ Thank you for the comment.

  3. 안녕~! I don’t think I left a message here before yet, but I do read! haha (: BIG THANKS for the links! I always wanted to listen to them, and I thought I could since I brought my iriver to Korea. But turns out radio channels here in Busan are different from those in Seoul ㅠㅠ Am glad I can hear them live now, while studying my Korean at night! *^.^*

    • I read you blog too! Thank you for dropping by as well. Yeah, radio channels in other provinces are different from the ones in Seoul. Are you here in Korea for an exchange?

      • I’m not actually! Just here on grad trip (: I actually wanted to take language courses while I was here, but turns out it’s right smack in between the Spring and Summer semesters, so didn’t manage to =( But I’m learning lots from being in a homestay environment too so it’s all good =)

        Will be leaving in about a week’s time ㅠㅠ I’ll really miss this place =( By the way, are you working in Seoul?

  4. @weixin That’s a nice grad trip! I’m not actually working since I’m not allowed to but sometimes I do teach some Koreans when I get some offers.

  5. 라디오 듣기는 꼭 필요한 공부 방법 중의 하나라고 할 수 있어요. TV도 좋지만 TV는 행동이나 입모양을 볼 수 있기 때문에 듣기 연습으로는 조금 약하다고나 할까요? ;) 라디오는 소리만 들리는 것이 대부분이어서(한국에는 물론 보이는 라디오도 있지만요) 듣기 연습에 아주 좋답니다.

    Listening radio is one of very necessary study ways. Of course, watching TV is good though, it is a bit weak to study sounds because we can watch their gesture or mouth. But normally most of radio broadcasts are made up of only sound(well, I know there are several radio program which we can watch as well), it is better for listening practice.

    Very well done, guys! ;)

    • I agree you can only listen and can not be bothered with the scenario that’s happening. Thank you for dropping by 언니!!

Leave a Reply

